My Father's Daughter

Gender Differences

4 Comments

My husband is hot. And I don’t mean physically, well, I do mean physically, just not in the way you’re thinking (though that is true too). No, I mean, he radiates an unbelievable amount of heat (imagine a 75,000 BTU furnace, and then double it). I’ve heard this is common of men, and that women are always cold.

If this is in fact true (and right now my sample size of one of each gender with all other evidence being anecdotal only, I do not place much faith in the scientific value of my statements herein), I can see a sort of need for this back when men were hunting and gathering and women were staying home to tend to the home fires. What doesn’t make sense, then, is that (and again, this is in my experience without any scientific rigour) men can’t see what is right in front of their faces. And if he can’t see the watch that is less than a foot from him, and all shiny and glinty and stuff, how is he going to see a deer at 500 feet when it’s camouflaged in its environment?

So, while I may never discover the reason for it, I guess, as the temperature wars wage on at 63 Westmount Mews (I don’t know how to change the scheduled settings on the thermostat, but I do know how to jack up the heat and use that hold button), I will take advantage of my very own private heat source. I have discovered, for example, that I can use his back as a heating pad for my back, as long as my pj’s are flame-retardant; and that on those cold nights on a May canoe trip, sharing a sleeping bag with Hot Phil sure does keep the hypothermia at bay.

4 thoughts on “Gender Differences

  1. So true Heather! I have my own personal heater as well and he sure does come in handy this time of year.

    Very glad you are back in the world of blogging. I love hearing what you are thinking and will check back regularly. 🙂

  2. Perhaps we could solve the whole climate change thing by capturing all the heat that Phil gives off?

    Attach a boiler and steam turbine to Phil and viola: electricity.

  3. I finally looked you up. 🙂
    I’ll confess that I laughed right out loud at the observation about men being unable to find the watch in front of them but the expectation of seeing a deer at 500 feet… well, that just cracked me up. Truth has a way of being extra funny. I’m doing my part for the world and am trying to raise a man that can find things. Trust me, not an easy task but I’m trying.

  4. Hot Josh is the same way, only when I snuggle up, in an attempt to avoid hypothermia, or at least a very bad cold…my husband has taken to sort of semi-consciously yelling “warm!” which is his shortened way of telling me to shove off. It’s pretty funny, but sometimes I briefly wonder if he has Tourettes or something.

    I am glad to have you back in the blogging world, my yahoo page has an rss feed from your blog now! :^)

Leave a Reply

